Main Content

JCPL Reference Databases

The resources on these pages are provided FREE to Jasper County Public Library patrons to help with research and entertainment needs. Except where noted, all of these resources can be used at home or away from the library. Use from home will require a JCPL library card, and some services may require you to establish an account in order to save preferences or other materials. This information is not retained by JCPL.

Browse the resources below, or choose a specific category to narrow your search. The more information link can lead to tips, known issues as well as help using the resource. To request assistance, or suggest a resource, use our contact page and select Online Databases as the category.

After hours use

Due to nightly server maintenance, some JCPL resources may not be available between the hours of 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. CST.

Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC)

Auto Repair Reference Center is an easy-to-use guide that allows you to search for, view and print maintenance and repair information - including illustrations - for your vehicle, without handling or damaging a book. Results include recall information.

More information

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves.

More information

Opposing Viewpoints

Fully-cited material for school and college-level thesis papers and other research projects on hundreds of current topics. Get the latest views on current events and hot button topics from newspapers, magazines and reputable published sources.

More information

World Book Reference Center

World Book Online Reference Center is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. Tailored to the needs and skills of patrons of high school age and above, World Book Online Reference Center includes a customizable interface, streamlined design, and personalized home page content features.

Videos, tutorials and more

More information

INSPIRE

Inspire is Indiana's Virtual Library, providing access to several databases for biographies, literature, and newspaper and magazine articles. Search from dozens of sources all over the web at once with a single click or narrow your search for specific materials.

Read on for tips on using this service at home.

More information

How Much Is It?

Founded in late 2010, HowMuchIsIt was designed to help the ordinary consumer find out what the costs of things are in life.

More information

What tree is that?

Identify U.S. trees based on leaves, fruits and tree names in this helpful database created in Ohio and later gifted to the Arbor Day foundation. Handy on field trips or for class projects involving tree identification.

More information

Indiana Code (Indiana Constitution)

This database, maintained by the State of Indiana, contains the current laws and codes of state government. Search by a specific code number, or browse to see the laws of a specific subject, such as farming or elections.

More information

Small Business Resource Center

When starting a new business, entrepreneurs need all the help they can get.

Access to Small Business Resource Center is like having experts on call 24 hours a day. Created by subject experts and a librarian advisory board, this online resource is designed for success.

More information

JCPL Regional News Guide

This Jasper County Public Library-curated resource contains links to newspapers, blogs, radio and television stations that cover Jasper County news, as well as news links for Indiana and the world.
Find original source news articles for papers and research projects with a local focus.

More information

Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

Browse and explore several important collections online from the Library of Congress.

More information

Explora

Explora is EBSCO's new research interface for schools and public libraries. Designed specifically for its users, the interface supports student research and classroom instruction.

Watch a Tutorial Video.

More information

Explora for High Schools

Explora is EBSCO's new research interface for schools and public libraries. High Schools edition is an interface designed for students in grades 9 through 12 with a focus on the Arts, Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History, Math, Science and more.

More information

Explora for Primary Schools

Explora is EBSCO's new research interface for schools and public libraries. Primary Schools edition is a student interface designed for use in Kindergarten through grade 5 with a focus on the Arts, Literature, Biography, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History, Math, Science and more.

More information

Explora - Educators Edition

Explora is EBSCO's new research interface for schools and public libraries. Educator's Edition is a tool designed to help teachers with lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and valuable sites for teachers.

More information

Explora for Middle Schools

Explora is EBSCO's new research interface for schools and public libraries. Middle Schools edition is a student interface designed for use in grades 6 through 8 with a focus on the Arts, Literature, Biography, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History, Math, Science and more.

More information

Biography Reference Center

Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

More information

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Center provides rich content that can help students realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

The database covers 380 topics, with articles that provide:
• Overview (objective background/description)

More information

Science Reference Center

Designed specifically for junior and senior high schools, Science Reference Center is an excellent source of reliable information on life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, technology and more.

The resource can be accessed through the dedicated Science Reference Center interface or Explora, which includes all of our library’s EBSCO databases.

More information